Explore the Archive
After Thomas Doggett’s death in 1722, the Fishmongers Livery Company took over responsibility for the Race for Doggett’s Coat and Badge, and they have ensured that it has been raced annually ever since. A team of volunteers catalogued and digitised archive material from Fishmongers’ Hall, now made publicly accessible for the first time
The archive is made up of loose material and two large scrapbooks, from which a selection of images are displayed here by decade. The archive also included a film reel with footage from races over the years, which has been digitised in a compilation.
Special thanks to Jenna Han and Catherine Debray for their help and dedication to working on this archive