Rainham Hall is a historic house with a difference. Following a major £2.5 million conservation and interpretation project, the Hall opened fully for the first time in October 2015. Visitors are now able to discover for the first time fascinating stories about the Hall's former residents.
The National Trust presents an innovative visitor experience developed with award-winning architecture practice Studio Weave, following a collaboration with the residents of Rainham Village, local groups and creative practitioners from across the borough.
Everything Harle Left Behind is the first exhibition at the Hall and tells the story of Captain John Harle, the enterprising merchant and ship's captain who built the Queen Anne-style house in 1729. Harle utilised the creek and wharf at Rainham, on the Thames estuary, for his business endeavours. An atmospheric narrative unfolds over three floors of the building, including a film installation exploring the perils of life at sea and the river trade. Visitors hear sea shanties and the sounds of far-away coastlines, and can play a game with real 18th-century coins.